Medal haul for Kazoku-Kan at AJA National Championships - The Droitwich Standard
Online Editions

13th Aug, 2022

Medal haul for Kazoku-Kan at AJA National Championships

Craig Gibbons 22nd Mar, 2018

THERE were ten medals for Kazoku-Kan Judo Club at the AJA National Championships at Erdington Academy.

Jordan Phillips was up first and took his opponents down with some clever techniques to claim gold.

Fighting in the esquires category, Eleanor Warburton won gold after defeating fellow Kazoku-Kan member Molly Charlwood in the final.

Warburton, 15, then followed up her gold with a bronze in the senior category while Charlwood also claimed bronze in the junior category.

Head coach Rob Alloway put on a good show in his final to secure the gold after a five-minute bout.

Felicity Warburton defeated all but one of her opponents on route to a silver medal while her brother Joshua also claimed silver.

Coming up against some tough opposition, Luke Phillips claimed bronze with Tyler Hall also taking third in his category.

On the mat, James Worsfold put up a valiant effort but unfortunately came up short of the medal places.

Lauren Hall was also unlucky not to take a medal home, finishing in fifth place on the day in what was her first competition in several months.

Meanwhile, Kuba Wojtasik was also unlucky not to take home a medal.

All gold medal winners will get a spot on the British team to compete in Holland at the Mierlo Championships in May.

Coach Alloway said: “This is a fantastic result for the club – it’s improving all the time.

“The players that have earned their pass to Holland are now stepping up their training in preparation for the championships.”

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.

Book an Advert

Book your newspaper advert with our online advert creation tool.

Business Directory

From plumbers, to restaurants, we can provide you with all the info you need.

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Droitwich Standard.